Board of Trustees

Bruchim HaBa-im!

I am delighted to welcome you to our Congregation Beth Israel Ner Tamid community — or at least to our website. We are a Conservative, fully egalitarian congregation, affiliated with the United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism.

Our intergenerational and diverse congregation proudly promotes and encourages participation in our congregational life. We provide an environment for spiritual practice and growth, an enriching and meaningful Jewish life, and a connection to the land and the people of Israel, including twice daily minyanim, engaging Shabbat services (and a delicious Kiddush lunch), Youth and Adult Jewish education, social action programs, speakers, volunteer opportunities, as well as social events.

Our cohesive kehillah comes together to pray, to study, to share in each other happy events, and to support each other in sorrow and challenging times. Together, our wonderful clergy, Rabbi Joel Alter and Hazzan Jeremy Stein, our dedicated staff, and our generous lay leaders and volunteers are working tirelessly building meaningful relationships with our Judaism, with each other, and with our community at large.

Please know that we are all here for you – reach out to us with any questions, if you need help, or just to say hello.

Melinda Swartz


President Melinda Swartz
Immediate Past-President Richard Strait
First Vice President Amy Blumenthal
Vice-Presidents Pnina Goldfarb, Keith Lindenbaum, Marc Tasman
Treasurer Douglas Fox
Recording Secretary Daniel Fleischman

Board of Trustees

Three Year Term William Burns
Cindy Cooper
Alana Platt
Brittney Roembke
Two Year Term Sarit Aschkenazi
Arielle Bloom
Menachem Graupe
Debbie Intravaia
One Year Term Beth Peterman
Karen Rachum
Vivian Rothschild
Bruce Weiss
Parliamentarian Jay Miller
Gabbaim Jerry Deutsch
Marlene Deutsch
Beverly Gruber
Bonnie Klein-Tasman
Michael Koren
Irwin Bud Margolis
Jay Miller
Mitchell Nelles
Judy Werlin
Lifetime Trustees Jay Miller
Irwin Bud Margolis
Second Home Cemetery Superintendent Allan Carneol